Our Governors

Our Governors represent a a broad cross-section of stakeholders in our school (this includes parents, school staff and members of our community).
Their role is to help our school improve and provide the best possible education for our pupils.
Further information regarding Governance in Truro & Penwith Academy Trust is available at the following link;

Mrs Elizabeth Lambourn

Chair of Governors


Chywoon Hill, Newlyn.

Mrs Patsy Williamson

Community Governor


I have been a Governor of Newlyn School for a number of years, now. During this time I have been Vice-chair of the main Governing Body and Chair of the Curriculum and Staffing Committee.
I am a community governor, having lived in Newlyn for 10 years and enjoy very much my connection with the school and its activities.
I have been in Education – at various levels – all my professional life, my last appointment being a University Senior Lecturer in Adult Teacher Education . I therefore enjoy my involvement in the ongoing progress on curriculum and methodology in the school.
I have also had much experience in recruitment and selection procedures and have always contributed to the interview process for new staff for the school.
I am proud to be associated with Newlyn School and thoroughly enjoy my role here.

Mrs Sue Moon



My relationship with Newlyn School began in 1987, as a parent volunteer, to read with the children - including my daughter, who had just started her Learning Journey-, and to make ‘Learning Packs’ for families to share. In 1991, Mrs. O’Connor, the head teacher at the time, made me the offer that I couldn’t refuse, namely to open an onsite Preschool, thus Stepping Stones became a part of the Newlyn School family, with my son following his sister’s footsteps from preschool into the school.
I became a Newlyn School governor in September 1992, and have seen many changes over the years, including the amalgamation of the infant’s school with the juniors on the Tolcarne site. Throughout this time I have remained dedicated to the staff and children of Newlyn School, and it gives me great pleasure and pride, when previous children arrive at Stepping Stones PreSchool with their own children.
I am committed to my roles of responsibility, as the Governor for Special Educational Needs and Disabilities; and for Safeguarding; the principles of which are totally embedded in our vision: We work together with the aim that ‘Everyone can be the best that they can be in everything they do’

Mrs Liz Gaillard

Parent Governor

I have a son in Foundation with a daughter hoping to start the school in September. Having grown up in Penzance, moved away and moved back, I now live with my husband and children in Newlyn, a village which I have always loved and one which I am delighted to live in!
My husband is French and I am a keen linguist which gives me great communication skills. I have excellent organisational skills and I am keen to learn new things too.
I will always seek to act in the best interests of all of the children at the school and I will work hard to make Newlyn School one that we can be very proud of.

Ms Eleanor Dowding

Parent Governor

I'm a mother of two children currently in Newlyn School. I started as a Parent Governor in December 2019.
For work I'm a Pension Transfer Specialist and Director of my own limited company. I work remotely from home and provide technical compliance and audit services to the financial advisory sector across the UK.
Prior to having my children I worked extensively within financial services.
I have a strong continuing interest in Governance. I am currently studying Environmental, Social and Governance Investing.
I hope to bring across my experience to assist the school and community.

Mrs Sanchia Pascoe


Ms Angelina Lambourn

Community Governor

I was born and bred in this area and my two sons are Newlyn School pupils. I have worked in media relations and journalism for the past two decades, including at the Eden Project, ShelterBox and Exeter College. Currently I work at Cornwall Council as a communications specialist for climate change.

Mrs Kelda McNeill


Mrs Gill Joyce


Mrs J Standring

Clerk to Governors

Mr Nigel Clark


Mr Simon Moore

Staff Governor